Tags

,

It is a Saturday.

The torrential rain which came with lightning just stopped and my stomach is churning.

What to eat?

Time check 4 PM.

I sent a quick message to my eating buddies. They have just finished having Korean Samgyupsal. What’s for dinner? I asked.

They have no idea.

I said why not have some lugaw? In that unlimited lugawan they have always been telling me about.

Weather is just perfect for that warm bowl of congee. I asked if they also serve tokwa’t baboy. They have, they said.

Great.

See you at 6:30 PM then.

And I continued reading blogs until I need to get up and prepare for the night.

Gi-Chi’s Lugawan is located in the street near Diamond. If you are from Angeles, you know where Diamond is. It is a subdivision where lots of restos, cafes and videoke houses have sprouted. That is the destination.

We arrived and was welcomed by a garage turned carinderia.

Lugawan

Plastic chairs and tables covered in linoleum. A counter which houses the steaming goto and some side dishes for accompaniments.

2014-09-13 19.42.29

I ordered EggCaldo. 30 pesos. Not bad. I paired it with tokwa’t baboy worth 25 pesos and a bottle of Pepsi for 10.

2014-09-13 19.42.35

A big bowl of steaming white delight arrived with those golden brown tokwa’t baboy. Stomach problem solved.

For only 65 pesos, Saturday dinner, check.

2014-09-13 19.28.50

Rating:

Parking 4 out 5

Park at the sidewalk at your own risk. There were plenty of spaces though when we arrived.

Taste of food 3.5 out of 5

Limited condiments. Friend garlic is rationed. You can have all the kalamansi, patis and pepper you like though.

Hygiene 2.5 out of 5

My measure for this will always be “Will my Mom eat here?”. Definitely not. Exposed washbasin with your typical curtain covering the bottom part. Possibility of crawling critters but I did not see one.

Price Soundness 5 out 5

For 30 pesos a bowl. You cannot complain.

Will I eat here again? It will not be a favourite place but for those times when budget is low and craving is on full mode, why not?

Also, there are several videoke and bar restos in front all blaring their own music. Conversation is not possible. Stress from noise pollution? Guaranteed.

