Tags

, , , , , , ,

I found myself in Malaysia last Wednesday. I was working for 12 days straight before that and I need a break. Plus, I need to fix some stuff that can’t be done in Indonesia.

I flew to Penang. I do not have any itinerary for this trip. I realized that I haven’t been making them in my previous holidays. It’s always a come what may. I am just so lazy to research. And recently, I have become a traveler who longs to just stay in the hotel and bludge until it is time to check out. It’s bad, I know.

Anyway, the only plan for this trip is to meet up with S. I haven’t seen S in a month since I quit my previous job. This was the perfect time for us to bond. Not. S has major exams coming and she shrieked to high heavens when she learned I am holidaying. SHE HAS TO STUDY FOR HER EXAMS.

But this is me and that is her and we cannot miss the chance to meet up. She picked me up from the hotel a couple of hours after I landed. Her Mom cooked a Sri Lankan feast for me. Yay!

They made the dishes less spicy for my taste. Sri Lankans are big spicy eaters, I learned.

Sri Lankan Yellow Rice

Sri Lankan Yellow Rice

Red Curry

Red Curry

Potato Curry

Potato Curry

Aubergine Curry

Aubergine Curry

And I have to wait for this bread to be baked before I left them for the day. I am such a sucker. 🙂

Straight out from the breadmaker

Straight out from the breadmaker

I have the nerve to return for dinner the following day. Of course that is after dropping hints here and there that I would love to come back. And her Mom is just a dear. She said she’d cook a couscous for me and of course I will never miss that chance. Yay!

Couscous in the making

Couscous in the making

So after several meals, chats and lounging in their house, my holiday was just perfect.

This Sri Lankan family is just superb. I’ve never felt so at home in a house. They just welcomed and treated me like a loved one. And for that I am grateful.

My Sri Lankan Family

My Sri Lankan Family

For sure I will be back. I haven’t finished the menu selection that S’s Mom can make.

Everything is just lovely.

