I have been here in Sydney the last couple of days and has been working my ass off for I don’t know why.

Yes, I don’t know why.

I am amazed that people can work almost the whole 24 waking hours and do the exact same thing the following day, or if there is a following day for them since it seems they don’t sleep at all.

I am amazed at what keeps them motivated to work very very hard day in and day out. It is not that they are going to get hungry if suddenly they juts decide to drop everything and just make do with what they have now because for sure that will be more than enough for them to survive.

I am amazed that they never get tired and their passion to make every second count is very evident in everything they do.

I wonder what makes them happy.

I wonder what they do on their free time.

Actually, I kind of know. They barely have free time. I think going to the bathroom, taking a shower and eating (sometimes this doesn’t count at all since they still work during meals) are luxuries for them as they get a breather from the endless tasks they still need to do.

I wonder what is their philosophy about work, money, life.

Observing people and seeing our differences made me learn more about myself, my work ethics, my philosophy, my take on life.

I work because it gives me a sense of identity, it pays for my bills, it provides me opportunity to share my knowledge, it becomes an avenue for me to meet new people and consider some of them friends, it provides me opportunity to improve myself and it lets me conquer my fears.

I am blessed to have my work now as what I always hear from friends and family members. I agree with them. But more than the perks of travelling for free, living from one hotel to another, being invited to dine out in places I won’t dare go and pay myself, I am more grateful with the lessons this job has allowed me to realize. Lessons I wouldn’t have learned if I didn’t throw caution to the wind and try something new.

I love my work and I am forever thankful for the opportunities it has given me.

But my work doesn’t own me. That has always been my philosophy.

But for others it seems it does.

