It is 9:05 PM and I am till cooking dinner.

I fried some meat that Mom got from the local grocer and is now attempting to cook some stir fried tofu whose recipe I googled over the net.

Life has been pretty boring and I feel senseless recently thereby making me think of things which make me more depressed.

Today it will end. Let me try sublimation and channel this unused energy to good use.

Hence I am starting to cook and produce something edible and healthy. This skill will also come in handy just in case I get assigned to a place where cost of eating out is exorbitant and preparing my own meal is the only way not to get broke. Yes, I am really talking of a particular place which I am excited to visit soon.

And maybe, since I do a lot of travelling, living in one hotel bed to another, I might as well chronicle the experience and give my two-cents worth on it.

Let me do something meaningful now. It has been a long time since I put my brain to good use.

I am not sure if blogging these experiences is a good use to that 2 lb mass in between my ears, but at least it’s a start.

Stir-Fried Tofu with Ginger-Soy Sauce

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes
Total time: 15 minutes

Soft cubes of tofu are stir-fried until almost crispy and combined with a ginger-soy sauce. Serve with white or brown rice.

 
Ingredients

1 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil 
One 14-ounce piece firm tofu, cut into cubes 
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, finely chopped 
3 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce 
3 tablespoons water 

 

Preparations

In a large skillet or a wok, heat the oil over high heat for a minute or two. Add the tofu cubes, being careful not to splatter the oil, and cook, without stirring, for 3 to 4 minutes. Gently flip the cubes over and cook another 4 minutes; the tofu should just be starting to turn golden. Add the ginger and cook 10 seconds. Add the soy sauce and water and let simmer about 1 minute. Serve warm. (Makes 4 servings) 

Let’s see how mine turns out.

 

P.S.

My tofu didn’t look pleasant to the eyes. And the taste is not that exciting as well. Oh well, papel. May bukas pa.

